DAZZLE'S UPGRADE PACK

If you haven't already done so, upgrade your game by downloading Dazzle's all-in-one upgrade pack. It comes with everything you need for today's servers. Does your blue bar freeze when joining servers? Do you lag in games? Do you get an annoying siren in Phobik's Servers? This is what you need. CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD.

TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Modding questions, answers, help.....

Moderators: Warfare, Admin, Moderator

Stone
New Brainjar
New Brainjar
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:53 pm

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Stone »

i have acas.v3 and i cantfind the section where i have to enter the code for my projectile so can somebody please tell me how to get the code for a created proj :tankerhappy1: :?
User avatar
TheBMTBaron
A Few Broken Fenders
A Few Broken Fenders
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 2:03 pm

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by TheBMTBaron »

Go to your Think Tanks folder (My computer/LocalDisk/ProgramFiles/WhereyouboughtTT/ThinkTanks) And get into "game/server/Scripts"

Find your ACAS Folder "Codes" and find a file called "TeamsTanksProjectiles.cs" Open it up with Microsoft word Notepad, or anyother Word Editing program.

At the Very end of The Page, you see this:

Code: Select all

$ACAS::CodesFolder::Function[28] = "admprojectilechanger";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Shortcut[28] = "/admarea";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::ExtraArg[28] = "SplashProjectile";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Description[28] = "Change Player to SplashProj.";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::GuiArgs[28] = "SelectedPlayer";

$ACAS::CodesFolder::Function[29] = "admprojectilechanger";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Shortcut[29] = "/admspeedy";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::ExtraArg[29] = "SpeedyProjectile";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Description[29] = "Change Player to SpeedyProj.";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::GuiArgs[29] = "SelectedPlayer";

$ACAS::CodesFolder::Function[30] = "admprojectilechanger";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Shortcut[30] = "/admbounce";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::ExtraArg[30] = "BounceProjectile";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Description[30] = "Change Player to BounceProj.";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::GuiArgs[30] = "SelectedPlayer";


At the Bottom of that, Put this:

Code: Select all

$ACAS::CodesFolder::Function[30] = "admprojectilechanger";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Shortcut[30] = "/admNAMEOFPROJECTILE";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::ExtraArg[30] = "NAMEPROJECTILEProjectile";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Description[30] = "Change Player to NAMEOFPROJECTILEProj.";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::GuiArgs[30] = "SelectedPlayer";


You MUST get the name right for this line:

Code: Select all

$ACAS::CodesFolder::ExtraArg[30] = "NAMEPROJECTILEProjectile";


Put the name of the Weapon you made in the Place of NAMEOFPROJECTILE. Keep Projectile in same place.

IMPORTANT:

You must Edit the Numbers at the End of the Line!

Code: Select all

$ACAS::CodesFolder::Function[u][b][30][/b][/u] = "admprojectilechanger";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Shortcut[u][b][30][/b][/u] = "/admNAMEOFPROJECTILE";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::ExtraArg[u][b][30][/b][/u] = "NAMEPROJECTILEProjectile";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::Description[u][b][30][/b][/u] = "Change Player to NAMEOFPROJECTILEProj.";
$ACAS::CodesFolder::GuiArgs[u][b][30][/b][/u] = "SelectedPlayer";


EDIT THE BOLDED/UNDERLINED NUMBERS TO THE NUMBER AFTER THE LAST NUMBER (youll understand it After a While.)

In the Bigginning of the Page, you see Projectile Changing for NonAdmins, this goes the same way as these except Code, GUIArg, and Function is Different.

Need more info? PM me. I was in a rush to type this, Sorry.
Mr Phobik
Site Mechanic
Site Mechanic
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: Toronto, CANADA

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Mr Phobik »

^ Err, I woudn't use Microsoft Word, Use notepad, Word tends to reformat it sometime's. Also, Its located in Game/server, Not game/server/script's :thumbup:
Image
User avatar
luke
New Brainjar
New Brainjar
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:30 am
Location: Thinktanks Lush

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by luke »

i have a problem with emitters. i made a new texture called flame01.png
well i made a emitter

Code: Select all

datablock ParticleData(flameone)
{
   textureName          = "~/data/flame01.png";
   dragCoefficient      = 1.0;
   gravityCoefficient   = -0.2;
   inheritedVelFactor   = 0.3;
   constantAcceleration = 0.0;
   lifetimeMS           = 2000;
   lifetimeVarianceMS   = 500;
   useInvAlpha          = true;
   spinRandomMin        = -90.0;
   spinRandomMax        = 500.0;
   colors[0]     = "0.56 0.36 0.26 1.0";
   colors[1]     = "0.56 0.36 0.26 1.0";
   colors[2]     = "0.36 0.21 0.21 0.4";
   colors[3]     = "0 0 0 0";
   sizes[0]      = 0.52;
   sizes[1]      = 1.25;
   sizes[2]      = 1.75;
   sizes[3]      = 2.95;
   times[0]      = 0.0;
   times[1]      = 0.2;
   times[2]      = 0.5;
   times[3]      = 1.0;
};

datablock ParticleEmitterData(flameoneemitter)
{
   ejectionPeriodMS = 73;
   periodVarianceMS = 50;
   ejectionVelocity = 1.5;
   velocityVariance = 0.5;
   ejectionOffset   = 0.0;
   thetaMin         = 90;
   thetaMax         = 90;
   phiReferenceVel  = 0;
   phiVariance      = 360;
   overrideAdvances = false;
   particles = "flameone";
};


but when i load a game to play it says
You do not have the correct version of the torque game engine or any related art needed to connect to this server. Please contact the server operator to obtain the latest version. missing particle texture: game/data/flame01.png and wehn i had it in game/data/shapes/tanks/ it was missing particle texture: game/data/shapes/tanks/flame01.png


Help?
Check out my maps!
- Recked Race-ency
- Narnias North
- Army Mods Map v1.01
- Swamp Lemethil
My Mods:
- Army Mods v1.01
(2nd version)
User avatar
Hitman
New Brainjar
New Brainjar
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: It's A Secret!! YOU STALKER!!!!
Contact:

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Hitman »

oky doky i finally figured out how 2 make emitters with the help from "animaniac" but when i try 2 make one for bounce back it doesnt seem 2 work and also how do u make nuke :?

:withstupid: :rockon: :argue: :monkey: :lol:
Hì†MaNBMTBARON™ also known as «ANG3L0FM3R€Y™»


You say you know just who I am
But you can't imagine
What waits for you across the line
You thought you had me
But I'm still here standing
And I'm tired of backing down
Guest

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Guest »

Luke you made a new texture is it the right size and type of picture?
Guest

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Guest »

I know how to make weapons and emmiters but after i edit and save my special.cs I go to my server and the weapons are the same. I think its my special.cs.dso but i dont know how to fix it and i'm hoping someone here does.
User avatar
Dazzle
Evil Site Admin
Evil Site Admin
Posts: 1320
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:59 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Dazzle »

When you make changes to the special.cs you have to delete the special.cs.dso before you restart the server in order that the changes take effect. Its the same when making changes to any .cs file, always delete the .dso.
ArtCrazy
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:14 am

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by ArtCrazy »

To add to ACASv3 it's much easier now... I wonder why you're still using the slower and older ACASv2 :P
Guest

Re: TUTORIAL: HOW TO MAKE WEAPONS/EMITTERS (UPDATED)

Post by Guest »

Luke your texture location is messed up it says ~data/flame
If you have your texture in your data folder move it it will only cause confusion
Post Reply