DAZZLE'S UPGRADE PACK

If you haven't already done so, upgrade your game by downloading Dazzle's all-in-one upgrade pack. It comes with everything you need for today's servers. Does your blue bar freeze when joining servers? Do you lag in games? Do you get an annoying siren in Phobik's Servers? This is what you need. CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD.

Mod Explosions?

Modding questions, answers, help.....

Moderators: Warfare, Admin, Moderator

Post Reply
_Anonymous_
New Brainjar
New Brainjar
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:46 pm

Mod Explosions?

Post by _Anonymous_ »

Is it possible to make your own explosions? I tried, but it didn't work out so well (TT crashed).
If at first you don't succeed, failure may be your style.
- Quentin Crisp
User avatar
Metal
Need Major Repair
Need Major Repair
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:48 pm

Re: Mod Explosions?

Post by Metal »

You need something like your TankExplosion01 so you can edit it... then make it in the special.cs but you need the TankExplosion first
_Anonymous_
New Brainjar
New Brainjar
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:46 pm

Re: Mod Explosions?

Post by _Anonymous_ »

Please explain . . .
:?
:withstupid: :slapme:
If at first you don't succeed, failure may be your style.
- Quentin Crisp
User avatar
TheBMTBaron
A Few Broken Fenders
A Few Broken Fenders
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 2:03 pm

Re: Mod Explosions?

Post by TheBMTBaron »

If Im correct, I think Explosions need DTS's for it to work.

If you get a DTS for a Explosion, then this is what you would do:

Code: Select all

datablock ExplosionData(SplashExplosion)
{
   startScale = 0.05;         // per side, in meters
   endScale = 2.0;            // per side, in meters
   durationScale = 800.0;     // in milliseconds
   resource = "~/data/shapes/tanks/AreaExplosion.dts";
   sound = "SplashBoom";
};
Rename the "datablock ExplosionData(SplashExplosion)" to a something else, ONLY REPLACING THE "SPLASH". Always have the "Explosion" at the end of the new name. For Example, It will be changed to "TestExplosion".

Code: Select all

datablock ExplosionData(TestExplosion)
{
   startScale = 0.05;         // per side, in meters
   endScale = 2.0;            // per side, in meters
   durationScale = 800.0;     // in milliseconds
   resource = "~/data/shapes/tanks/AreaExplosion.dts";
   sound = "SplashBoom";
};
To follow THESE Instructions, you should already have a DTS. Lets say I made one called "TestExplosion.dts".
Replace the "resource = "~/data/shapes/tanks/AreaExplosion.dts";" with "TestExplosion.dts"

It should be done, you should have a new explosion. But this Explosion will look different but act like Area. To Change how it acts, Edit the Numbers for these 3 lines:

Code: Select all

  startScale = 0.05;         // per side, in meters
   endScale = 2.0;            // per side, in meters
   durationScale = 800.0;     // in milliseconds
If you dont have a DTS then you should do:

Code: Select all

datablock ExplosionData(SplashExplosion)
{
   startScale = 0.05;         // per side, in meters
   endScale = 2.0;            // per side, in meters
   durationScale = 800.0;     // in milliseconds
   resource = "~/data/shapes/tanks/AreaExplosion.dts";
   sound = "SplashBoom";
};
Rename the "datablock ExplosionData(SplashExplosion)" to a something else, ONLY REPLACING THE "SPLASH". Always have the "Explosion" at the end of the new name. For Example, It will be changed to "TestExplosion".

After that, Change the Numbers to change how it acts by changing the numbers in these 3 lines:

Code: Select all

  startScale = 0.05;         // per side, in meters
   endScale = 2.0;            // per side, in meters
   durationScale = 800.0;     // in milliseconds
User avatar
Metal
Need Major Repair
Need Major Repair
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:48 pm

Re: Mod Explosions?

Post by Metal »

^ Exactly... Just edit some of your Explosions with an art tool and viola...
Do the adove and that's it... So... just to help Squishin to explain it
_Anonymous_
New Brainjar
New Brainjar
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:46 pm

Re: Mod Explosions?

Post by _Anonymous_ »

Ok, so I got it to work: :monkey:

I found this out:

You should just copy your SplashExplosion and change the name, stats, and whatever picture (or dts) you want to use. You do not actually need to use a dts though.
If at first you don't succeed, failure may be your style.
- Quentin Crisp
User avatar
Metal
Need Major Repair
Need Major Repair
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:48 pm

Re: Mod Explosions?

Post by Metal »

^ right... just don't put .png to your explosion... sometime .dts are animated
Post Reply