Page 1 of 5

MAKING SERVER SHOW ON ROUTERS (tutorial)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:13 am
by benblue20
Hi, (Only people that have a Router)

Many people have been asking me to make a tutorial for port forwarding on a router. So here it goes!

Note: Routers may differ, but mostly similar.

Tutorial:

1. Type in your gateway IP address. Don't know where the gateway IP address is? Go to control panel\network connections\find your local internet network.

Image

2. Right click and press "Status", then press "Support". Get your default gateway IP address.

Image

3. Once you know your default gateway IP address, put that address in an internet browser (IE, or Firefox whichever NO HTTP!! ONLY NUMBERS)

Image

4. Put in your default factory password. Usually "admin" or "1234". If both don't work, google it.

Image

5. Once you're inside your router, click on "Security". Note: May be different for other routers.

Image

6. Click on "Port Forwarding"

Image

7. Click on "Persistent Port Forwarding"

Image

8. There will be a big list of things once you come to this page. Find a clean empty space and put this in (make sure you choose UDP!!) btw, for the "Private IP section", make SURE you know the LAST digit of your IP ADDRESS and put it in(not gateway IP address. Check back on step 2).

Image

9. Click "Submit" or "Apply"

Image

There you go! You have port forwarded ThinkTanks!

If you have questions or concerns, please post on this thread.

Thank you for reading and I hope this clears up some known issues with routers. :tankerhappy:

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:52 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
hey Man THNX!! but..it doesnt say security any where :(

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:54 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
NVM I found it THNx IT worked!!!!Omg man I Owe you!!! :rockon: keep up the good work.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:13 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
Omg mine is way differant than your so plz help me ....thnx..HERE IS A SCREENIE OF IT
Image

@Ronak

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:12 pm
by Rooster
The principle is the same
BUT----------You got the wrong UDP port value
It should be 28000

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:19 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
o LOL, sorry thnx for telling me. :rockon:

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:25 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
hey could you plz like just tell me what goes in the blank and all that plz

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:28 pm
by Downgrade
does it work onmac also cause i cant find the default gateway thing

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:31 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
WAH!!???I'm not taling about that I am at the last part and my gateway ip i typed it in and i went to forwarding portal thats where i need help cuze its differant...

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:55 pm
by Hhal
Ack, sorry Ronak, but all this router stuff is way beyond me. :o