Page 1 of 2

TT Performance Tweaks

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:41 pm
by PLAYER36-SA-
I can't seem to find it anymore. Wild alaskan was looking for it earlier and I tried to find it, but I think it's disappeared. What happened?

Info in next post....roos

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 12:23 pm
by Rooster
UPDATE WINDOWS VISTA USERS: Mr Phobik has discovered that the the pref.cs is located in a different directory to that of Windows XP and mac users. See the information at the bottom of this post to access the prefs.cs and action the performance tweaks.

Seems to have mis-appeared
If on a high speed connection....
1
Go to game/client pref.cs
Open with notepad
Change
$pref::Net::PacketRateToClient = "10";
$pref::Net::PacketRateToServer = "16";
$pref::Net::PacketSize = "200";

to this
$pref::Net::PacketRateToClient = "32";
$pref::Net::PacketRateToServer = "32";
$pref::Net::PacketSize = "450";

Save file and delete game/client.cs.dso
to insure changes

2 If on windows
Go to this website and choose from method 1
High Latency if From Euro or beyond
Low Latency if from the States

http://cable-dsl.home.att.net/

Windows Vista users
Open your game/client folder and click the compatibility files button to access the prefs.cs you need to edit for performance tweaks.

Image
Image

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 1:01 pm
by SkyRon(SA)
thnx!!

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 2:47 pm
by Wild Alaskan-AK-
didn't really help but thanks anyways

Hosters

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 5:01 pm
by niKo
I think I remember there being a tweak for hosters, do you have that, roo?

+niko.

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:35 pm
by Rooster
Well the main thing for hosters Nicks is to
keep the frame rate as high as possible

These settings give the best FPS
In the mission file use the following
Visibility = 500
Fog distance = 300

This puts the least strain on clients video hardware

--=--

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 6:44 am
by niKo
ah, k. thx.

=niko.

Just a quick note: "NotePad" wouldn't open that...

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 11:24 am
by RunsWithScissors
...file for me. The little mac wouldn't highlight it on the "open with" menu.

"TextEdit" worked just fine, though- in and out in 30 seconds, no problem!

I thought this might be useful if anyone else encounters the same situation.

(I'm running Mac 10.2.8, btw.)

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 5:02 pm
by Baba
^ about time you got here!

Well, that's a story for another day, isn't it?

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 10:09 pm
by RunsWithScissors
Just wanted to say that I've seen some MAJOR differences today
since I changed those values. Most noticably, my fire rate is definitely
faster than it was before.

I'm loving it! :thumbup: